

COUNCIL ANNUAL MEETING

FRIDAY, JANUARY 22, 2021 AT 12:00 P.M.

(PUBLIC INVITED TO ATTEND)

VIRTUAL MEETING

1



COUNCIL AGENDA

Friday, January 22, 2021 | 12:00 p.m. College Council Annual Meeting - Virtual

Item	Item Lead	Time (mins)	Action Required	Page No.
Call to Order/Attendance	P. Quaid	1	Decision	
Adopt the Agenda a. Conflict of Interest Declaration	P. Quaid	1	Decision	
3. Election of Officers for 2021 Council Year	I. Teich	75	Decision	3
Break		10		
Motions Brought Forward by Committees: a. Governance Committee: Appointment of Committee Chairs and Committee Members	K. Biondi	30	Decision	5
 5. Dates of Upcoming Council Meetings a. Friday, March 26, 2021 b. Friday, June 18, 2021 c. Friday, September 17, 2021 d. Friday, December 10, 2021 				
6. Adjournment (approx. 2:00 p.m.)	P. Quaid		Decision	



BRIEFING NOTE

Council Meeting - January 22, 2021

Subject

2021 Executive Committee Election

Background

The election of the Executive Committee occurs at the first Council meeting of each year. The election procedure is outlined under College By-law part 7.03. If a position is contested, an election will take place. If uncontested, the position will be acclaimed.

At the Council meeting held on November 5, 2020, it was suggested to have the five Executive positions listed by role and then voted on by Council at an upcoming Council meeting 'one position at a time,' starting with the President. Council members elected to the roles listed below will automatically be on the Executive Committee. College By-law 14.02 (1) requires that the committee have one more elected Council member than public members, which may affect how the voting proceeds.

In accordance with College By-law part 7.02, prior to the January 2021 Council meeting, the Registrar invited (in writing) all Council members who wished to stand for election for any of the five roles on the Executive Committee to submit self-nominations.

Nominations were received from College Council candidates for each of the five roles on the Executive Committee as outlined in the Summary of 2021 Executive Committee Self-Nominations, below.

Decision for Council

Election of the 2021 Executive Committee to take place in the following order: President, Vice-President, Chair of Governance/HR Committee, Chair of Audit/Finance/Risk Committee, Member-at-Large.

Supporting Materials

Summary of 2021 Executive Committee Self-Nominations

Contact

- Ira Teich, Registrar and CEO
- Hanan Jibry, Assistant Registrar

Summary of 2021 Executive Committee Self-Nominations

Effective Dec. 11, 2020

FIRST CHOICES				
President	Vice-President	Chair, Gov/HR	Chair, AFR	Member-at-Large
Dr. Patrick Quaid	Ms. Winona Hutchinson	Ms. Kathryn Biondi	Dr. Linda Chan	Dr. Mark Eltis
	Mr. Bashar Kassir	Dr. Camy Grewal		Dr. Areef Nurani
	Dr. Richard Kniaziew	Mr. Howard Kennedy		
SECOND CHOICES				
	Vice-President	Chair, Gov/HR	Chair, AFR	Member-at-Large
		Ms. Winona Hutchinson	Ms. Winona Hutchinson	Dr. Linda Chan
		Dr. Richard Kniaziew		Dr. Camy Grewal
				Ms. Winona Hutchinson
				Mr. Howard Kennedy



BRIEFING NOTE GOVERNANCE/HR COMMITTEE

Council meeting - Jan. 2021

Subject

Appointment of Committee Chairs and Members - 2021

Issue

As per its terms of reference, the Governance/HR Committee is responsible for recruiting committee members and for proposing chair and committee compositions. The Governance/HR Committee is also responsible for recommending non-Council volunteers for appropriate committee vacancies. In line with this, and following the terms of reference for each committee, the Governance/HR Committee has prepared committee slate recommendations for Council to consider and approve (beginning on the next page). The recommendations take into consideration a number of factors, including experience, competency, expertise, and any preferences indicated by Council members. The Committee has also ensured that each committee meets statutory requirements where appropriate and aligns with obligations under the College's By-laws. Regarding non-Council volunteers, the Committee reviewed information provided by each of the 39 applicants and is recommending all of them for committee appointments.

Since the chairs of the Governance/HR and Audit/Finance/Risk committees are being determined by the Executive Committee election process—which will elect a ratio of three professional and two public members, according to the College's By-laws—individuals filling those specific chair positions are not indicated in the slate recommendations below. The elected individuals will be added once the election is finalized, along with any additional changes that are necessary as a result of executive election outcomes.

Decision for Council

Approval of proposed committee memberships for 2021 as set out by the Governance/HR Committee below (with requisite changes as outlined above).

Contact

• Chad Andrews | Senior Manager, Policy & Governance

Gov/HR Committee Slate Recommendations

DISCIPLINE COMMITTEE (all professional; all public; at least 5 non-Council; exclude all ICR)

Professional:	Public:	Volunteer:
Dr. Linda Chan	Ms. Winona Hutchinson (Chair)	Dr. Amit Bhatia
Dr. Lisa Christian	Ms. Suzanne Allen	Dr. Lorne Berman
Dr. Mark Eltis	Ms. Kathryn Biondi	Dr. Krista Bruni
Dr. Camy Grewal	Mr. Ravnit Dhaliwal	Dr. Michelle Cvercko
Dr. Lindy Mackey	Mr. Bashar Kassir	Dr. Marian Elder
Dr. Areef Nurani	Mr. Howard Kennedy	Dr. Vivian Habib
Dr. Patrick Quaid	Mr. Narendra Shah	Dr. Jameel Kanji
Dr. William Ulakovic		Dr. Amita Kumar
		Dr. Donald MacQueen
		Dr. Mohamed Moussa
		Dr. Dennis Ruskin
		Dr. Karin Simon
		Dr. Marta Witer

FITNESS TO PRACTICE COMMITTEE (1 professional; 1 public; 1 Council or non-Council)

Professional:	Public:	Volunteer:
Dr. Annie Micucci (Chair)	Mr. Howard Kennedy	Dr. Jay Mithani
		5 4 4 6 1 11 1

Dr. Karin Schellenberg

INQUIRIES, COMPLAINTS AND REPORTS COMMITTEE (1 professional; 4 public; 5 Council or non-Council)

Professional:Public:Volunteer:Dr. Richard Kniaziew (co-Chair)Ms. Kathryn BiondiDr. David White (co-Chair)Dr. Annie MicucciMr. Ravnit DhaliwalDr. Jenna AstorinoMr. Bashar KassirDr. Vanesh KathiraveluMr. Narendra ShahDr. Norris LamDr. Dino Mastronardi

PATIENT RELATIONS COMMITTEE (1 professional; 3 public; 3 Council or non-Council)

Professional:	Public:	Volunteer:
Dr. Mark Eltis	Ms. Suzanne Allen (Chair)	Dr. Manveen Bedi
	Mr. Bashar Kassir	Dr. Angela Kyveris
	Mr. Howard Kennedy	Dr. Olga Savitska
		Dr. Mike Yang

QUALITY ASSURANCE COMMITTEE (2 professional; 3 public; 8 Council or non-Council)

Quality Assurance Panel

Professional: Public: Volunteer:

Dr. Linda Chan (Chair) Mr. Ravnit Dhaliwal Dr. Nadine Furtado Ms. Winona Hutchinson Dr. Natalija Ilic

Dr. Larry Ng

Dr. Karin Schellenberg Dr. David Traynor

Clinical Practice Panel

Professional: Public: Volunteer:

Dr. Camy Grewal (Chair) Mr. Howard Kennedy Dr. Bill Chisholm

Dr. Lindy Mackey

Dr. Shirley Ha

Dr. Sarah MacIver

Dr. Leah Markin

REGISTRATION COMMITTEE (1 professional; 2 public; 2 Council or non-Council)

Professional: Public: Volunteer:

Dr. William Ulakovic (Chair)

Ms. Suzanne Allen

Dr. Pooya Hemami

Mr. Howard Kennedy

Dr. Naomi Kong

Dr. Harninder Sandhu Dr. Abraham Yuen

AUDIT/FINANCE/RISK COMMITTEE (at least 2 public; Chair from Exec TBD by election)

Professional:

Dr. Mark Eltis Dr. Lindy Mackey

Public:

Ms. Suzanne Allen Mr. Ravnit Dhaliwal

GOVERNANCE/HR COMMITTEE (at least 2 public; Chair from Exec TBD by election)

Professional:

Dr. Lisa Christian

Dr. Areef Nurani

Public:

Ms. Kathryn Biondi Mr. Narendra Shah

AD-HOC COMMITTEES

Quality Assurance Subcommittee

Professional:

Dr. Areef Nurani

Dr. William Ulakovic

Public:

Mr. Narendra Shah

Volunteer:

Ms. Ellen Pekilis (Chair) Dr. Patricia Hrynchak

Dr. Olga Savitska

Mr. John Van Bastelaar