

# College of Optometrists of Ontario Council Meeting October 15, 2020 APPROVED

#### Attendance:

Dr. Patrick Quaid (President) Ms. Winona Hutchinson Dr. Richard Kniaziew (Vice-President) Mr. Bashar Kassir Ms. Suzanne Allen Mr. Howard Kennedy Ms. Kathryn Biondi Dr. Lindy Mackey Dr. Linda Chan Dr. Annie Micucci Dr. Lisa Christian Dr. Christopher Nicol Mr. Ravnit Dhaliwal Mr. Narendra Shah Dr. Camy Grewal Dr. William Ulakovic Dr. Marta Witer

### Staff & Guests:

1

2

4

5

6 7

8

9

10

11 12

13

14 15

16

17

18 19

20

23 24 Ms. Hanan Jibry Mr. Ira Teich

Ms. Amber Lepage-Monette

**1. Call to Order:** Dr. Quaid called the meeting to order at 7:06 p.m.

P. Quaid welcomed everyone to the meeting and explained the background. Votes pertaining to changes to the Colleges by-laws require a Special Resolution and a two-thirds majority vote performed by roll call. This Council meeting was therefore called to correct a technical issue.

I. Teich made an additional announcement, updating Council that the Spousal Exemption Regulation passed on Oct. 8, 2020. This permits optometrists to treat their spouses without the treatment being considered sexual abuse. The College will be developing guidance regarding the regulation update to optometrists in the future.

C. Nicol noted that the Patient Relations Committee has considered developing guidelines with respect to treating family members and would like coordination on messaging.

Before moving onto adopting the agenda, I. Teich discussed two motions that need to be tabled until the December Council meeting. Motions i and vii propose word changes driven by the outcomes of the votes on the remaining motions.

At today's meeting, Council will vote on motions ii through vi.

P. Quaid confirmed that, as Council has already discussed the motions in detail, today would just be the voting.

**2. Adoption of the Agenda:** A draft agenda was circulated prior to the meeting.

25			
26 27	Move	d by W. I	Hutchinson and seconded by L. Christian to adopt the agenda.  Motion carrie
2 <i>7</i> 28			Wiotion Carrie
29	a. Con	flicts of	Interest: Dr. Quaid asked Council members if anyone had a conflict of interest with any
30	item c	n the da	y's agenda.
31			
32	R. Kni	aziew wa	s deemed in conflict with the motion on term limits for the role of Vice-President and wil
33	abstai	n from v	oting on motion iv.
34			
35	No otl	her confl	icts declared.
36			
37	A. Mic	cucci pres	sented the motions.
38			
39			ought Forward from Committees
40	a) Gov	ernance/	/HR Committee: By-law Amendments
41 42	Та о	. ماید میں میں	
42 42	ro app	prove the	e following aspects of the by-law proposal:
43 44	/i:\	Movo	d by L. Chan and L. Mackey to establish Council term limits (nine year consecutive
44 45	(ii)		d by L. Chan and L. Mackey to establish Council term limits (nine-year consecutive three-year waiting period following consecutive term limit, 18-year total);
43 46		(eiiii, i	Dr. Richard Kniaziew – Against
47		0	Ms. Suzanne Allen - Support
48		0	Ms. Kathryn Biondi - Support
49		0	Dr. Linda Chan - Support
50		0	Dr. Lisa Christian - Support
51		0	Mr. Ravnit Dhaliwal - Support
52		0	Dr. Camy Grewal - Against
53		0	Ms. Winona Hutchinson - Against
54		0	Mr. Bashar Kassir - Support
55		0	Mr. Howard Kennedy - Against
56		0	Dr. Lindy Mackey - Support
57		0	Dr. Annie Micucci - Support
58		0	Dr. Christopher Nicol - Against
59		0	Mr. Narendra Shah - Support
60		0	Dr. William Ulakovic - Against
61		0	Dr. Marta Witer – Against
62			
63			Motion defeate
64	,,,,,,		
65	(iii)		by L. Chan and seconded by S. Allen to establish committee term limits (nine-year
66			num for any one committee, 21-year total, exceptional appointment clause);
67 68		0	Dr. Richard Kniaziew – Against
68 60		0	Ms. Suzanne Allen - Against
69 70		0	Ms. Kathryn Biondi - Support
70 71		0	Dr. Linda Chan - Support Dr. Lisa Christian - Against
<i>,</i> ,		( )	

## COLLEGE OF OPTOMETRISTS OF ONTARIO — COUNCIL MEETING Minutes — Oct. 15, 2020 — APPROVED

72		<ul> <li>Mr. Ravnit Dhaliwal - Support</li> </ul>	
72 73		• •	
		Dr. Camy Grewal - Against     Ms. Wingna Hytchinson - Against	
74 75		Ms. Winona Hutchinson - Against     Ms. Packer Kassin, Connects	
75 76		Mr. Bashar Kassir - Support     Ma. Haward Kasar adv. Assistat	
76		Mr. Howard Kennedy - Against	
77		Dr. Lindy Mackey - Against	
78		Dr. Annie Micucci - Support	
79		<ul> <li>Dr. Christopher Nicol - Against</li> </ul>	
80		<ul> <li>Mr. Narendra Shah - Support</li> </ul>	
81		<ul> <li>Dr. William Ulakovic - Against</li> </ul>	
82		<ul> <li>Dr. Marta Witer – Against</li> </ul>	
83			Motion defeated
84	(iv)	Moved by R. Dhaliwal and seconded by L. Chan to establis	sh officer term limits (four-year
85	(10)	maximum for each President and Vice-President position	
86		Ms. Suzanne Allen - Support	i, exceptional circumstance clause,
87			
		• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •	
88		Dr. Linda Chan - Support     Dr. Linda Chainting, Support	
89		o Dr. Lisa Christian - Support	
90		Mr. Ravnit Dhaliwal - Support	
91		<ul> <li>Dr. Camy Grewal - Against</li> </ul>	
92		<ul> <li>Ms. Winona Hutchinson - Against</li> </ul>	
93		<ul> <li>Mr. Bashar Kassir - Support</li> </ul>	
94		<ul> <li>Mr. Howard Kennedy - Against</li> </ul>	
95		<ul> <li>Dr. Lindy Mackey - Support</li> </ul>	
96		<ul> <li>Dr. Annie Micucci - Support</li> </ul>	
97		<ul> <li>Dr. Christopher Nicol - Against</li> </ul>	
98		<ul> <li>Mr. Narendra Shah - Support</li> </ul>	
99		<ul> <li>Dr. William Ulakovic - Against</li> </ul>	
100		<ul> <li>Dr. Marta Witer - Against</li> </ul>	
101		-	Motion defeated
102			
103	(v)	Moved by B. Kassir and seconded by R. Dhaliwal to reduce	Executive Committee duties in by-
104	` '	laws to only the legislative requirement;	
105		<ul> <li>Dr. Richard Kniaziew - Against</li> </ul>	
106		<ul> <li>Ms. Suzanne Allen - Support</li> </ul>	
107		Ms. Kathryn Biondi - Support	
108		<ul> <li>Dr. Linda Chan - Support</li> </ul>	
109		<ul> <li>Dr. Lisa Christian - Support</li> </ul>	
110		Mr. Ravnit Dhaliwal - Support	
111		Dr. Camy Grewal - Against	
112		•	
		Ms. Winona Hutchinson - Against     Mr. Bashar Kassir, Support	
113		Mr. Bashar Kassir - Support     Mr. Howard Kannady, Against	
114		Mr. Howard Kennedy - Against     Dr. Lindy Markey, Symport	
115		Dr. Lindy Mackey - Support     Dr. Apple Misusei, Support	
116		Dr. Annie Micucci - Support	
117		o Dr. Christopher Nicol - Against	
118		<ul> <li>Mr. Narendra Shah - Support</li> </ul>	

## COLLEGE OF OPTOMETRISTS OF ONTARIO — COUNCIL MEETING Minutes — Oct. 15, 2020 — APPROVED

119		0	Dr. William Ulakovic - Against	
120		0	Dr. Marta Witer - Against	
121			Motion defea	ated
122				
123	(vi)	Mo	ved by W. Ulakovic and seconded by S. Allen to institute appointment model for non	-
124		offi	cer positions on the Executive Committee;	
125		0	Dr. Richard Kniaziew - Against	
126		0	Ms. Suzanne Allen - Support	
127		0	Ms. Kathryn Biondi - Support	
128		0	Dr. Linda Chan - Support	
129		0	Dr. Lisa Christian - Against	
130		0	Mr. Ravnit Dhaliwal - Against	
131		0	Dr. Camy Grewal - Against	
132		0	Ms. Winona Hutchinson- Against	
133		0	Mr. Bashar Kassir - Support	
134		0	Mr. Howard Kennedy - Against	
135		0	Dr. Lindy Mackey - Support	
136		0	Dr. Annie Micucci - Support	
137		0	Dr. Christopher Nicol - Against	
138		0	Mr. Narendra Shah - Support	
139		0	Dr. William Ulakovic - Against	
140		0	Dr. Marta Witer - Against	
141			Motion defea	itec
142				
143			ed Council for their quick reply to the meeting request and for making themselves	
144		or the	e meeting, reminding Council it will vote on motions i and vii at the December Council	
145	meeting.			
146				
147	4. Adjourn	ment	t: Moved by M. Witer and seconded by A. Micucci to adjourn the meeting at 7:26 p.n	า.
148				
149			Motion car	riec